France 24’s budget

August 19, 2006 at 4:22 pm | Posted in France 24, General Information | 7 Comments

France 24 has raised its annual budget to 80 million Euros because of its plans to broadcast over two channels: one in French, the other in English.

Initial plans was for the French government to allocate 70 millions for the new international news network.

Comparatively, CNN’s budget is 650 million Euros, however, BBC World works with only 70 million Euros.

In the case of France 24, 2.2 million will be used to buy images from other networks for F24’s newscast. As for the “shows,” the network will have 2.6 million Euros available every year.

The French international news channel also hopes to attract funds from advertisers. However, the chairman of the board of directors expects only three million Euros in France 24’s first year.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m not an expert, but I wouldn’t be surprised if BBC World’s budget was actually a fair bit bigger if you include that of BBC News, which actually performs the newsgathering and reporting. I would assume that the BBC World budget itself is just for the studios and staff in London, plus satellite space.

  2. Well, if you take into consideration that the news on BBC World represents only a small part of its programming, I don’t think France 24 will be much different in that matter. France 24 will also use images from its shareholders (TF1 and France Televisions) but will also enter in deals with other French news gatherers such as RFI, AITV and Agence France Presse, just like BBC World uses BBC News for its news. The rest of the budget is used for other programming.

  3. however it does It must be quite a lot of work to keep your blog so nice and neat! I’m sure all of us readers appreciate your efforts as much as me!. a wonderful

  4. Amazing I am sure there will be hundreds of people that appreciate this information. You make a very good point in your conclusion.. calendar year

  5. Highly rated post. I be taught something completely new on completely different blogs everyday. Deciding on one . stimulating to read the paper content material from different writers and study a bit one thing from their website. I’d like to apply certain of this content on my weblog you’re mind. Natually I’ll give a link right here we are at your internet-site. Appreciate your sharing.

  6. My neighbor and I had been simply debating this particular subject, he is often looking for to prove me incorrect. Your view on that is nice and precisely how I truly feel. I just now mailed him this website online to point out him your own view. After looking over your website I ebook marked and will likely be coming again to learn your new posts!

  7. you are my breathing in, I possess few blogs and occasionally run out from to post : (.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

